UPSC Exam Details – Eligibility, Fees, Stages, How to Apply etc

About UPSC Examination: Hello every one, I feel very privileged to discuss with you about the UPSC. The full form of UPSC is Union Public Service Commission.  The examination pattern was first introduced on 1st October 1926. The details like course, eligibility, examination pattern, fee structure were clearly explained below. UPSC is termed to be one of the top most qualifications in India. It conducts various examinations to recruit in the eligible, talented candidates into the profession.

The main core examinations held with UPSC are for Civil Services, Indian Forest Services (IFS), Naval Defense Academy (NDA), Combined Defense Services (CDS) and Special Class Railway Apprentice etc. Civil Services examination is determined to be the reputed and toughest track to break in India. Generally the number of vacancies varies every year. Here in this explanatory session we will get to know the clear details regarding each and every examination held up with UPSC, their eligibility, core syllabus etc.


The Civil Services Examination (CSE) is termed to be a nationwide competitive examination conducted by the Union Public Service Commission for recruitment to various Civil Services to provide their valuable services in Indian Government. Mainly Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), Indian Police Service (IPS) and Indian Revenue Service (IRS) examination were held under the control of Civil Services Examination (CSE).

As stated earlier The CSE examination is toughest qualifying exam in India, with more than 12 lakh applicants apply for Civil Services Examination and success rate of 0.1%-0.3% candidates get qualified. It is conducted in two phases – a Preliminary examination and a Mains examination. The entire process from notification to preliminary examination and declaration of the final results roughly take a period of one year.

UPSC Exam Details of Eligibility

  • For the IAS, IFS & IPS, a candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • For the IRS and other services, a candidate must be one of the following:

A citizen of India: A person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia or Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India is termed to be a citizen of India.

Educational Qualification for UPSC examination: Candidates interested to apply for the UPSC examination and get qualified for the UPSC Jobs must satisfy any one of the following conditions.

  • A degree from a Central, State or Deemed university.
  • A degree received through correspondence or distance education.
  • A degree from an open university.
  • A qualification recognized by the Government of India as being equivalent to one of the above.

UPSC Age Limit:  Minimum age to apply for the UPSC examination is that candidate must be have attained 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on August 1st of the year of examination. Age relaxations are applicable for all SC/ST/OBC candidates as per Indian Government Rule.

  • For OBC the upper age limit is 40.
  • For SC and ST the limit is 42 years.
  • For Physically Handicapped the upper age limit is 50 years

How many times can we apply for UPSC Exam?

  • General category: 6 times
  • OBC category : 9 times
  • SC/ST Candidates = unlimited


UPSC Civil services exam is conducted in three phases and notification for Mains exam will be published in April and Preliminary examination in August. The prelims result will be duly announced in September. The Mains exam falls in December and result is out mostly to be announced by February/ March

STAGE-1: A preliminary examination or CSAT (Objective Section) consisting of two objective-type test papers namely general studies and aptitude test. Candidates applied for the examination is tested with the General Knowledge questionnaires up to the recent time of the examination and aptitude test to check the accuracy and speed of the candidates.

STAGE-2: A main examination is subjective section, consisting of nine papers of conventional (essay) and out of the nine papers seven papers were calculated for segregating marks

  • Paper‐I General Essay-250 Marks.
  • Paper‐II General Studies – I – Syllabus (Indian Heritage and Culture, History and Geography of the World and Society) – 250Marks.
  • Paper‐III General Studies –II – Syllabus(Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International relations)- 250 Marks.
  • Paper‐IV General Studies –III – Syllabus (Technology, Economic Development, Bio‐diversity, Environment, Security and Disaster Management) – 250 Marks.
  • Paper‐V General Studies –IV – Syllabus (Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude) – 250 Marks.
  • Paper‐VI Optional Subject– Paper 1 – 250 Marks.
  • Paper‐VII Optional Subject– Paper 2 – 250 Marks.
  • Paper-VIII Language-300 Marks.
  • Paper-IX-English Literature- 300 Marks.

NOTE: In case of optional subjects the student may choice accordingly based on HIS/HER Educational qualification.


  • Candidates applying offline (through common application form) are required to pay a fee of Rs. 100/- (Rupees one hundred only) through a single Central Recruitment Fee Stamp.
  • All Female Candidates, Physically handicapped and candidates belonging to Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes are exempted for paying the application fee.
  • Candidate claiming age relaxation/fee concession will be required by the Commission to submit along with their detailed application form, a certified copy of the caste/Percentage of Disability from a Government Hospital/Medical Board in support of his claim for being physically handicapped.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here